Fairtrade Zones - Local Authorities images

Fairtrade Zone Logo

Fairtrade Zones - Local Authorities

Every local authority area in Scotland can have a ‘Fair Trade Zone Group’, and many local authorities play a key role in these groups. They consist of volunteers and representatives from local organisations who work together to achieve and maintain Fairtrade status for their local authority area (known as a ‘zone’). You can read our Local Authority Fairtrade Zone Guidance here - which has information on how the goals are different and some helpful hints!





More than 75% of all local authority areas in Scotland have now achieved ‘Fairtrade Zone’ status. These zones are:

  • Aberdeen City
  • Aberdeenshire
  • Angus
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Dundee City
  • East Ayrshire
  • East Dunbartonshire
  • East Lothian
  • East Renfrewshire
  • City of Edinburgh
  • Falkirk
  • Fife
  • Glasgow City
  • Highlands
  • Inverclyde
  • Midlothian
  • Orkney Islands
  • North Ayrshire
  • Perth and Kinross
  • Renfrewshire
  • Shetland Islands
  • South Lanarkshire
  • Stirling
  • West Dunbartonshire
  • West Lothian

If you’re interested in joining or finding out more about your local zone group, please get in touch with us at communities@sftf.org.uk


To find out more about what's going on in Fairtrade Zones take a look at our Local Fair Trade Activity Report 16-17 here.