Support for the Charter: MPs & MSPs images

Support for the Charter: MPs & MSPs

On 25 September 2018, the Forum united with 250 organisations around the world to announce the launch of the new International Fair Trade Charter.

The Charter sets down the fundamental values of Fair Trade and defines a common vision towards achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

The Charter was initiated by Fairtrade International and the World Fair Trade Organization and leading figures from both networks were in Edinburgh to celebrate its launch. Read more about the launch here.

During the launch event several MSPs pledged their support for the Charter and we are now looking for MPs and more MSPs to join the cause.

If you are an MSP or MP, we would appreciate if you could join your fellow members of Parliament in pledging support for Fair Trade and the new International Fair Trade Charter.

If you are a constituent and you would like to see your MP and MSPs support the Charter and the Fair Trade movement, please contact your MP and MSPs and encourage them to pledge their support.

You can find your constituency and regional MSPs using this page on the Scottish Parliament website. You can find your MP here

You can use this email template to contact your MSPs and this template to contact your MP.

If your MSPs/MP have already pledged their support, you can use this email template to thank them.


So far, the following MSPs have pledged their support:

Clare Adamson

Motherwell and Wishaw

Alasdair Allan

Na h-Eileanan an Iar

Jackie Baillie


Claire Baker

Mid Scotland and Fife

Claudia Beamish

South Scotland

Colin Beattie

Midlothian North and Musselburgh

Neil Bibby

West Scotland

Keith Brown

Clackmannanshire and Dunblane

Aileen Campbell


Alex Cole-Hamilton

Edinburgh Western

Maurice Corry

West Scotland

Roseanna Cunningham

Graeme Dey

Perthshire South and Kinross-shire

Angus South

Linda Fabiani

East Kilbride

Mary Fee

West Scotland

Christine Grahame

Midlothian South, Tweeddale and Lauderdale

Rhoda Grant

Highlands and Islands

Iain Gray

East Lothian

Ross Greer

West Scotland

Fiona Hyslop


Daniel Johnson

Edinburgh Southern

Alison Johnstone


James Kelly


Bill Kidd

Glasgow Anniesland

Johann Lamont


Richard Lyle

Uddingston and Bellshill

Angus MacDonald

Falkirk East

Gordon MacDonald

Edinburgh Pentlands

Ken Macintosh

West Scotland

Rona Mackay

Ben Macpherson

Strathkelvin and Bearsden

Edinburgh Northern and Leith

Gillian Martin

Aberdeenshire East

John Mason

Glasgow Shettleston

Shona Robison

Dundee City East

Mike Rumbles

North East Scotland

Mark Ruskell

Mid Scotland and Fife

Michael Russell

Argyll and Bute

John Scott


Colin Smyth

South Scotland

Stewart Stevenson

Banffshire and Buchan Coast

Alexander Stewart

Mid Scotland and Fife

Nicola Sturgeon

Glasgow Southside

Sandra White


Glasgow Kelvin

The following MPs have pledged their support:

Deidre Brock

Edinburgh North and Leith

Alan Brown

Kilmarnock and Loudoun

Alistair Carmichael

Orkney and Shetland

Douglas Chapman

Dunfermline and West Fife

Martyn Day

Linlithgow and East Falkirk

Patrick Grady

Glasgow North

Bill Grant

Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock

Peter Grant

Glenrothes and Central Fife

Chris Law

Stuart C McDonald

Dundee West

Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East

John McNally


Angus B MacNeil

Na h-Eileanan an Iar

Ian Murray

Edinburgh South

Tommy Sheppard

Edinburgh East

Jamie Stone

Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross

Alison Thewliss

Glasgow Central

Philippa Whitford

Central Ayrshire

Pete Wishart

Kirsty Blackman

Jo Swinson

Perth and North Perthshire

Aberdeen North

East Dunbartonshire