Fairtrade Zones images

Fairtrade Zones

In Scotland, we use the term "Fairtrade Zone" to refer to local authority areas with Fairtrade status. 

Every local authority area in Scotland can have a ‘Fairtrade Zone Group’, and many local authorities play a key role in these groups. They consist of volunteers and representatives from local organisations who work together to achieve and maintain Fairtrade status for their local authority area (known as a ‘zone’).

Local Authorities play a huge part in advancing the Fair Trade movement, and many have helped their local area to achieve Fairtrade status. They have huge buying power, meaning it can make a real difference when they switch some of their products to Fair Trade, and they can influence other public sector bodies and local organisations to support Fair Trade.

As well as the benefits this brings for producers in developing countries, supporting Fair Trade can also help local authorities achieve the following objectives:

  •        Demonstrate commitment to sustainable development;
  •        Bring economic benefits to the area by promoting local businesses that use or stock Fair Trade
  •        Increasing people’s awareness of where their products come from also encourages more people to buy local produce;
  •        Fair Trade groups can bring different sections of the community together and encourage people to take an interest in their local area. 

You can read our Local Authority Fairtrade Zone Guidance here which has information on how the goals are different and some helpful hints. 

If you are interested in joining or finding out more about your local zone group then visit this page here or contact us at communities@sftf.org.uk

To find out more about what is going on in Fairtrade Zones you can take a look at our Local Activity Report 17-18 here

More than 80% of all local authority areas in Scotland have now achieved ‘Fairtrade Zone’ status. These zones are:

  • Aberdeen City
  • Aberdeenshire
  • Angus
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Dumfries and Galloway
  • Dundee City
  • East Ayrshire
  • East Dunbartonshire
  • East Lothian
  • East Renfrewshire
  • City of Edinburgh
  • Falkirk
  • Fife
  • Glasgow City
  • Highlands
  • Inverclyde
  • Midlothian
  • North Lanarkshire
  • Orkney Islands
  • North Ayrshire
  • Perth and Kinross
  • Renfrewshire
  • Shetland Islands
  • South Ayrshire
  • South Lanarkshire
  • Stirling
  • West Dunbartonshire
  • West Lothian